Review March 2014

Posted on

Notes March:

  • Total time I did something (including walking): 27 hours and 33 minutes.
  • Wow! This has been my most active month since June 2011!
  • Most of the time I spent walking but I also have been doing a few more workouts than in the past months.
  • The weather has been incredible mild which makes it easy to go outside for walking.
  • My goal for April is to finally run a 5K nonstop and do more running/other workouts than in March.

Workouts March:

Running. Done: 5
Strength training. Done: 2
Cardio. Done: 2
Yogalates/Stretching. Done: 1

Number and time of workouts in March: 10 workouts, total time 4 hours and 59  minutes.

Yearly mileage

Total March: 20.4 K / 10.6  miles
Total till 3/31: 55.2 K / 34.5 miles
Total running time: 6 hours and 54 minutes

Walks with Bella:

Days with at least 1 “long” walk this year: 74 days
Total time we walked so far: 58 hours 16 minutes.
Total mileage we walked so far: 282.36 km / 176.47 miles.

Goal: 1000K (625 miles) in 2014.

March 8: Veluwe Zwerfpad, Arnhem, 8.55 K / 5.3 miles, 1 hours 49 minutes.

March 14: Trekvogelpad, Bergen aan Zee-Egmond aan de Hoef, 12.84 K / 8 miles, 2 hours 49 minutes.

Cook book challenge

Use 92 cook books at least once in 2014.

Update challenge: 8 Books.

New recipes from cooking magazines: 11

Books I’m (have been) reading

Jo Nesbo – The Readbreast

This is the first of a 3 book sequel. It was a very good book. So good I immediately started the second book.

Jo Nesbo – Nemesis

Best Photo a day this month:

Best 365 Days in Nature photo this month:

Highlight(s) of the month

Dinner date with R.

Concert Golden Earring

Weekend away together with Bella.

Date night with 4 of our friends last weekend of March.


Review February 2014

Posted on

Notes February:

  • Total time I did something (including walking): 22 hours and 56 minutes.
  • My workouts are still not much, hoping to do better at this in March.
  • Although I still can’t run 5K without walking, I’m confident I’ll get to that within the next 2 weeks. I’ve signed up for a 5K race on March 15 and want to another one on March 30.
  • Walking with Bella goes great so far, it helps a lot we had a mild Winter.
  • I’ve bought a Fitbit at the end of January. My goal is to reach 10,000 steps a day and although that seems easy, it isn’t always. On days that I work and don’t workout, just walk it’s hard to get to the 10,000 steps. I got 16 out of 28 days where I walked more than 10,000 steps, the other days I was close. The day I walked most steps was last Sunday where I walked 21,419 steps. I love  my Fitbit, it really motivates me to move more.

Workouts February:

Running. Done: 4
Strength training. Done: 2
Cardio. Done: 5
Yogalates/Stretching. Done: 0

Number and time of workouts in February: 11 workouts, total time 5 hours and 12  minutes.

Yearly mileage

Total February: 13.8 K /  8.6 miles

Total till 2/28: 34.8 K / 21.7 miles
Total running time: 4 hours and 22 minutes

Walks with Bella:

Days with at least 1 “long” walk this year: 47 days
Total time we walked so far: 35 hours 40 minutes.
Total mileage we walked so far: 177.31 km / 110.81 miles.

Goal: 1000K (625 miles) in 2014.

February 15: Winterwandeling Huizen, 10.81 K / 6.7 miles, 2 hours 10 minutes.

February 23: Zwientjestocht Ughelen, 13.03 K / 8.1 miles, 2 hours 37 minutes.

Cook book challenge

Use 92 cook books at least once in 2014.

Update challenge: 6 Books.

New recipes from cooking magazines: 5

Books I’m (have been) reading

Celeste de Blasis – The proud breed.

I finally finished this book, it was nice to read it again.

Jo Nesbo – The Readbreast

Just started reading this one.

Best Photo a day this month:

Best 365 Days in Nature photo this month:

Highlight(s) of the month

Dinner date with R., my friend T. coming over for dinner, my friend K. became a Mom, two organized walks with Bella, great weather


Review January 2014

Posted on

Notes January:

  • Total time I did something (including walking): 21 hours and 58 minutes.
  • I haven’t exercised much in January. Still struggling to find my daily motivation but I keep on trying. The days are getting longer now which usually lift my spirits. I’m not going to feel guilty about how many workouts I did anymore. Everything I do counts even if it’s not much. Just keep on trying and I know one day I’m back to my normal workout routine.

Workouts January:

Running. Done: 5
Strength training. Done: 1
Cardio. Done: 3
Yogalates/Stretching. Done:

Number and time of workouts in January:  9 workouts, total time 4 hours and 15 minutes.

Yearly mileage

Total January: 20 K /  12.6 miles

Total till 1/31: 20 K /12.6  miles
Total running time: 2 hours and 29 minutes

Walks with Bella:

Days with at least 1 “long” walk this year: 23 days
Total time we walked so far: 17 hours 48 minutes.
Total mileage we walked so far: 90.49 km / 56.55 miles.

Goal: 1000K (625 miles) in 2014.

January 4: Oliebollenwandeling Apeldoorn, 10.81 K / 6.7 miles, 2 hours 10 minutes.

January 18: Vliegdorp Wandeltocht Soesterberg, 11.97 K / 7.4 miles, 2 hours 3 minutes.

Cook book challenge

Use 92 cook books at least once in 2014.
Update challenge: 4 Books.
New recipes from cooking magazines: 3

Books I’m (have been) reading

Celeste de Blasis – The proud breed.

I haven’t been reading much this month. This book is a very old book, it’s written in 1978 and I have read it several times over the years. It’s a historic novel and it still makes me cry at the same parts of the book that always make me cry. I’m halfway this book and hope to finish it next month.

Best Photo a day this month:

Best 365 Days in Nature photo this month:

Highlight(s) of the month

It was a slow month like January usually is. I did nothing really special this month but nevertheless it was a good month.


A year in my life: 2013 edition

Posted on

Summary 2013:

  • It’s been a good year for R., Bella and me. No big problems, just a happy life.
  • I didn’t exercise as much as I did in 2012.
  • As for running: this was my worst year since I started running back in 2009. But it’s not all bad because even though it was hard, I had to go back to training for a 5K, I never gave up and that’s positive. I am hopeful that 2014 will be a much better running year.
  • What has been really positive is that I discovered long distance walking with Bella and I can’t tell you again how much we both are enjoying that. I see so many parts of my country that are new to me and I love walking in nature. We will definitely continue this in 2014.

As usual on the last day of the year I give you my stats for the year, the best photo’s of our walks this year and some of my highlights this year.

Thank you my dear friends for your neverending support, your reading of my posts and sharing your own life with me. Although we live so far apart, I consider you definitely as my friends.

I wish you a happy New Year with lots of love, happiness, laughter and doing things you love to do. See you in 2014!

Statistics:

Number and time of workouts in 2012: 198 workouts, total time 111 hours and 12 minutes.
Number and time of workouts in 2013: 144 workouts, total time 71 hours and 34 minutes.

Total km’s/miles in 2012: 485.9 km / 303.6 miles
Total running time: 57 hours 31 minutes

Total km’s/miles in 2013: 351.6 km / 219.7 miles
Total running time 41 hours and 45 minutes

Races 2013:
March 3: Trappenbergloop Huizen, 5K / 3.1 miles, 34 minutes.

Walks with Bella:

2012: 244 walks, 135 hours and 35 minutes, 631.33 K / 394.6 miles
2013: 252 walks, 176 hours and 33 minutes, 887.33 K / 554.6 miles

Long walks:

May 25: Rondje Spakenburg, 8.26 K / 5.1 miles, 1 hour 33 minutes.

June 16: Weide Natuurwandeling Vinkeveen, 13.38 K / 8.36 miles, 2 hours 37 minutes.

July 6: Recreatietocht Utrecht, 10.77 K / 6.73 K, 1 hour 57 minutes.

August 13: Utrechtpad (Utrecht-Bunnik), 12.87 K / 8 miles, 2 hours 31 minutes.

August 24: Heidetocht Ede, 11.54 K / 7.2 miles, 2 hours 15 minutes.

September 7: Baarn & De Vuursche, 10.02 K / 6.2 miles, 1 hour 54 minutes.

September 28: Najaarstocht Soest, 11.85 K / 7.4 miles, 2 hours 8 minutes.

October 6: Herfstboswandeling Austerlitz, 5.96 K / 3.7 miles, 1 hour 5 minutes.

October 20: Herfstwandeling Leusden, 8.2 K / 5.1 miles, 1 hour 38 minutes.

November 2: Kootwijkerduin- en Veentocht, 11.36 K / 7.1 miles, 2 hours 12 minutes.

November 16: Winterwandeling Naarden, 11.92 K / 7.4 miles, 2 hours 7 minutes.

November 30: Pepernotenwandeling Leusden, 13.47 K / 8.4 miles, 2 hours 31 minutes.

December 28: Winterwandeling Zeist, 11.52K/7.2 miles, 2 hours 8 minutes.

10 years at my company

Weekend away to Rockanje

Birthday dinner for my friend T.

Photoshoot

Happy Bella

We saw Bruce again in concert

At the wedding of a colleague

Dinner with colleagues

Dinner date with my friend K.

A day at the races

Vacation has started

Biking day

Giethoorn

Rotterdam

Christmas lunch

Friends forever


Tuesday December 3, 2013: I got an original …

Posted on

I won’t be doing a review over November. I’ll post my final results of this year at the end of this month.

But:

  • It was my best month with exercise this year, I moved for 26 hours and 27 minutes. Can you believe almost 20 hours of that was walking with Bella and about 100K (62 miles)?
  • Bella and I took 4 long walks in November.
  • I even ran a little more K’s than in October.
  • I finished “The Coachroach” by Jo Nesbø and continued in his next book “The Redbreast”.
  • It was the month of R.’s birthday which we celebrated with a delicious dinner.

I got one! I got an original Shelley hat! Yesterday a package arrived in the mail and when I saw it was from Shelley I almost immediately knew what was in it because I’ve been nagging her about one everytime she finished one. And now I got my own beautiful pink hat which I will wear proudly on the cold Dutch Winter days:

Thank you so much sweet Shelley, I love it!

Workouts:

Monday: Running

Week 7 started today. The weather was perfect for running: not to cold and no wind. I had my thermo clothes underneath my running clothes but that was too warm actually. I didn’t watch my pace during the running intervals and just ran at what pace felt fine. I was a bit slower than the last runs but the intervals were a bit longer too. Overall I was happy with this run.

Stats:

Distance: 4.5 K / 2.8 miles
Time: 00:32:10
Running: 5-6-7-8 minutes.
Paces: 6:44 – 6:44 – 6:49 – 6:39
Weather: dry, no wind, 3C (37 degrees)
Last song on Ipod before finish: Simple Plan – Summer paradise

Tuesday: Strength

X-TrainFit Chest & Back. Total time 43 minutes.
The total workout exists of 3 circuits of the same chest and back exercises. I did 2 circuits today.

Photo a day challenge:

As I mentioned last week I joined two photo challenges on closed FB groups. I’m sharing them on my blog too. On Tuesday I will do a recap of last week’s photo a day challenge. On Thursday/Friday I’ll share the week of 365 Days In Nature.

December 1: Red.
Saw these red berries on my walk last Saturday.

December 2: Where I stood.
Stood on this train track last Saturday when I had to cross it during our walk.

December 3: Silver.
This was a difficult one, I thought of something Christmas but saw a lot of that today. I choose a glass with silver where we burn little lights in at night.

Meals:

Sunday December 1

I made a vegetable soup with the soup vegetables from the Beebox: it was delicious. I made bruschetta with pesto, tomato and mozzarella cheese (all from the Beebox) to eat with it.

Monday December 2

Time to try the Soester tubers: I cooked them and then mashed them. I made a kind of stew of the Romanesco with tomatoes and we had a meat ball with cheese and mustard to go with it. I liked it, R. not so much.

Tuesday December 3 

I was home late and I knew I would and had planned an easy dinner: pork, baked potatoes, carrots/green peas. Ready in 15 minutes.


Review October 2013

Posted on

Notes October:

  • Total time I did something (including walking): 19 hours and 50 minutes.
  • I did a little bit better with my workouts. But my running sucked last month. But I’m hopeful that that will get better in November.
  • Last month I wondered if Bella and I could walk a 1000K this year. But I don’t think that’s going to happen since we still have 300K to go. Autumn has started which means that walks might be skipped due to bad weather. But we’ll see where we end. We already walked more than last year. 

Workouts October:

Running. Done: 6
Strength training. Done: 6
Cardio. Done: 1
Yogalates/Stretching. Done: -

Number and time of workouts in September: 11 workouts, total time 6 hours and 10 minutes.
Number and time of workouts in October: 13 workouts, total time 6 hours and 34 minutes.

Yearly mileage

Total October: 24.1 K / 15 miles
Total till 10/31: 304.1 K / 190 miles
Total running time: 35 hours and 58 minutes

Walks with Bella:

Days with at least 1 “long” walk this year: 206 days
Total time we walked so far: 140 hours 54 minutes.
Total mileage we walked so far: 703 km / 439 miles.

October 6, Herfstboswandeling Austerlitz, 5.96 K (3.7 miles), 1 hour 5 minutes.

 

October 20, Herfstwandeling Leusden, 8.2 K (5.1 miles), 1 hour 38 minutes.

Books I’m (have been) reading

Lee Child
Die Trying

The second Jack Reacher thriller and this was as good as the first one.

Jo Nesbø – The cochroach

Haven’t read much the past 2 weeks and haven’t started reading this book yet.

Low this month

Nothing.

Highlight(s) of the month

It was a “slow” month, not much fun things to do, just the usual day to day stuff.

Trip to Rotterdam

19th Anniversary (photo is from September 2012)

Dinner date with my friend K. I totally forgot to take pictures. From the moment we saw each other we started talking and didn’t stop till we said goodbye. It was so great to see her.


Tuesday October 1, 2013: Review September 2013

Posted on

Notes September:

  • Weight loss: 0.4 kg / 0.8 lbs.
  • Total time I did something (including walking): 21 hours and 57 minutes.
  • I’m not unhappy with my results this month. I had a cold for 2 weeks which made it hard to exercise/run. So all things considered it was a good month.
  • Bella and I crossed the 600 K (375 miles) this month. Makes me wonder if we can reach a 1000K at the end of this year. Sure am going to try it.

Workouts September:

Running. Done: 6
Strength training. Done: 3
Cardio. Done: 2
Yogalates/Stretching. Done: -

Number and time of workouts in August: 7 workouts, total time 3 hours and 17 minutes.
Number and time of workouts in September: 11 workouts, total time 6 hours and 10 minutes.

Yearly mileage

Total September: 26 K / 16 miles
Total till 09/30: 280 K / 175 miles
Total running time: 33 hours and 6 minutes

Walks with Bella:

Days with at least 1 “long” walk this year: 185 days
Total time we walked so far: 127 hours 24 minutes.
Total mileage we walked so far: 635 km / 396 miles.

September 7, Baarn & De Vuursche, 10.02 K (6.2 miles), 1 hour 54 minutes.

September 28, Najaarstocht Soest, 11.85 K (7.4 miles), 2 hours 8 minutes.

 

Books I’m (have been) reading

Jo Nesbø
The Batman

A colleague of mine recommended this writer who is Norwegian. The main character is Harry Hole, an alcoholic police officer who is sent to Australia to solve a murder on a Norwegian girl. The book was really good and had some aboriginal stories in it too. There’s a whole series of the Harry Hole books and the next one is already on my shelf for reading.

Jussi Adler-Olsen
De Noodkreet in de fles (Redemption)

The third book in the series and by far the best one I’ve read so far.

Lee Child
Die Trying

Low this month

Catched a cold.

Highlight(s) of the month

I didn’t shoot many photos this month. Not much happened this month but the school reunion was definitely the highlight of the month.

Annual work party

School reunion.

Dinner at my friend’s house


Review August 2013

Posted on

Notes August:

  • I haven’t exercised much this month. I’m okay with that (for now) because I had a 3 week vacation. Sometimes it’s good to let go a little and enjoy that.
  • I did move more overall than in July but that’s because I walked so much with Bella this month.
  • Total time I did something (including walking): 24 hours and 2 minutes.
  • But … for September this is not enough: I’m out of shape and I’ve gained weight. If I don’t do something it’s totally going the wrong way ending up even heavier than I’ve ever been. I have some kind of action plan but more on that in a regular post.

Workouts August:

Running. Done: 4
Strength training. Done: 1
Cardio. Done: 2
Yogalates/Stretching. Done: 0

Number and time of workouts in July: 13 workouts, total time 6 hours and 35 minutes.
Number and time of workouts in August: 7 workouts, total time 3 hours and 17 minutes.

Yearly mileage

Total August: 18.1 K / 11.1 miles
Total till 08/31: 254 K / 158 miles
Total running time: 29 hours and 54 minutes

Walks with Bella:

Days with at least 1 “long” walk this year: 166 days
Total time we walked so far: 111 hours 33 minutes.
Total mileage we walked so far: 557 km / 348 miles.

August 13, Utrechtpad (Utrecht-Bunnik), 12.87 K (8 miles), 2 hours 31 minutes.

August 24,Heidetocht Ede, 11.54 K (7.2 miles), 2 hours 15 minutes.

Books I’m (have been) reading

George R.R. Martin
A Dance With Dragons, Dreams and Dust

First part of the last books (there are 2) that have been published. This book was much more fun to read than book 4 because a lot of my favorites were back in this book. Have only one book left to go but save that for later.

Karen Rose
You belong to me

The books of Karen Rose keep you in the dark till the end who did it. Although at this one I had guessed the right person very early in the book. As all her books, this was a great one too but not the best I’ve read of her.

Jo Nesbø
The Bat

 

Low this month

Absolutely nothing.

Highlight(s) of the month

Racing Day

Vacation and home improvement.

Watching R. at his motor race.

Dinner dates with R. (and Bella :) )

 

Bike ride to the tea garden.

 

Giethoorn


Review July 2013

Posted on

Notes July:

  • This month was okay. I had expected to do more but the heat wave had me adjust some things. Mostly the walks with Bella suffered from that because it was too hot for her to walk on the street.
  • This month Bella and I will start walking the long distance walking paths. I have 5 different routes that I want to do. This is a “project” that will take us years to complete because they are about 400K (250 miles) long and I want to walk approx 15K (9.3 miles) per walk.
    More about this when I start the first route but be prepared to see many, many beautiful places of my country in the future. For me I will see places of my country that I have never seen either. I really look forward to this.
  • I don’t have goals for August except to keep on running. I signed up for a 5K race on September 1 that I want to run without walking. I’m pretty well on schedule so it should be possible.
  • Total time I did something (including walking): 20 hours and 52 minutes.

Workouts July:

Running. Done: 9
Strength training. Done: 3
Cardio. Done: -
Yogalates/Stretching. Done: 1

Number and time of workouts in June: 12 workouts, total time 7 hours and 10 minutes.
Number and time of workouts in July: 13 workouts, total time 6 hours and 35 minutes.

Yearly mileage

Total July: 38.7 K / 24.1 miles

Total till 07/31: 235.9 K / 147.4 miles
Total running time: 27 hours and 44 minutes

Walks with Bella:

Days with at least 1 “long” walk this year: 140 days
Total time we walked so far: 91 hours 44 minutes.
Total mileage we walked so far: 460 km / 287 miles.

July 6, Recreatietocht Utrecht, 10.77 K (6.7 miles), 1 hour 57 minutes.

Book I’m reading

Karin Slaughter
Unseen

Karin Slaughter never disappoints me, every book she writes is good. This wasn’t any different. The plot was very well written. Usually I have an idea about who did it but not this time, I was surprised at it. Can’t wait till the next one but that will be probably next year.

George R.R. Martin
A Dance With Dragons, Dreams and Dust

First part of the last books (there are 2) that have been published. I had a hard time finishing book 4 but this one reads much easier because it has more of my favourite characters in it. I expect to finish it this month.

Low this month

Nothing really, not even the heat because I keep remembering how cold and long our winter has been and how much I complained about how long it lasted.

Highlight(s) of the month

BBQ with friends at our place.

 

Dinner with colleagues.

Haircut: short!

Dinner with my friend K.


Review June 2013

Posted on

Notes June:

  • I had a fantastic month with exercising/running/walking, the best since October 2012.
  • My goals for June are:
    - No skipping of runs -> fail
    - Walk more with Bella -> success
    - Lose some weight -> fail
  • Although running didn’t go that well, I’m positive that this month will be better now that I have starten over.
  • That I moved so much more is because I only missed 5 days of a long walk with Bella this month and I took longer walks.
  • I’m not setting any goals for July, I just want to run, walk and cross train and have fun.
  • Total time I did something (including walking): 26 hours and 18 minutes.

Workouts June:

Running. Done: 7
Strength training. Done: 1
Cardio. Done: 3
Yogalates/Stretching. Done: 1

Number and time of workouts in May: 14 workouts, total time 7 hours and 0 minutes.

Number and time of workouts in June: 12 workouts, total time 7 hours and 10 minutes.

Yearly mileage

Total June: 38.3 K / 23.9 miles
Total till 06/30: 196.2K / 122.6 miles
Total running time: 23 hours and 6 minutes.

Walks with Bella:

Days with at least 1 “long” walk this year: 121 days.
Total time we walked so far: 77 hours 23 minutes.
Total mileage we walked so far: 389 K / 243 miles.

Weide Natuurwandeling Vinkeveen, Jun 16, 13.38 K (8.3 miles), 2 hours 39 minutes.

Book I’m reading

Jussi Adler-Olsen
De vrouw in de kooi (The caged woman)

This was a very good book. It’s about a detective who tries to solve a cold case and of course succeeds in it. I immediately started in the second book of this writer after I finished this one.

Jussi Adler-Olsen
De Fazantenmoordenaars (The peasant killers)

Finished the second book too that was even better than the first one. I believe there are 2 more books but going to read something else first.

Peter Ames Carlin
Bruce

 

This is a biography of Bruce Springsteen. I started it but already stopped reading it regularly. I don’t really like to read biography’s. I will read a chapter from time to time but for my regular reading I moved on to the next book.

Karin Slaughter
Unseen

Low this month

Nothing.

Highlight(s) of the month

Birthday party of one of our best friends.

Dinner date with R.

Bruce Springsteen in concert.

 

Retirement reception of my old manager.

Wedding party of one of my colleagues.